Books · Reading Wrap Up

Reading Wrap Up – May 2017

Although we’re already almost two weeks into June, life has been crazy and I’m just now getting around to posting this reading wrap up for the month of May, 2017. Better late than never, right?


What I Read:

 

1. Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith

 

windfall1I received my copy of Windfall on the first day of May. I was leaving the house for work and there was the little box stuck between the screen and the door. This is the first physical review copy I’ve ever received, and so finding the package on the way out for a normal work day was a little like Christmas morning.

Want to know what I thought about this contemporary YA romance? Read my full review here.

2. Death and the Lit Chick (A St. Just Mystery) by G.M. Malliet

I picked up Death and the Lit Chick at a local library and read it on my lunch break at the daycare job. It’s set in Scotland and it wasn’t too bad. I honestly can’t remember the culprit, though. Oops.

3. The Bookseller by Cynthia Swanson

The Bookseller was another library book I enjoyed in May. The premise is interesting: a single woman who co-owns a bookshop with her friend in the 1960s begins dreaming of a different life where she’s married with children – only the dreams don’t really feel like dreams. I particularly like this book because it tackles multiple social issues that continue to be relevant to today’s audience. I won’t tell you what those are though, because you really ought to read it yourself.

4. God-Shaped Hole by Tiffanie DeBartolo

God-Shaped Hole was my favorite read this month. I requested an eARC through NetGalley mainly because I liked the cover, knowing next to nothing about what I was getting myself into. But, damn, it could’ve been written for me. Read my review of this phenomenal novel here.

IMG_20170604_233738_040

Books Added to My Collection:

 

1. Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith

2. Hag-Seed by Margaret Atwood

3. Astrophysics for People in a Hurry by Neil Degrasse Tyson

What I’m Reading Now:

 

1. Hag-Seed by Margaret Atwood

This retelling of Shakespeare’s The Tempest was written by the author of the classic The Handmaid’s Tale, which was recently developed into a television series for Hulu. I’m only a few chapters into Hag-Seed but I like it so far.

2. Astrophysics for People in a Hurry by Neil Degrasse Tyson

I bought this eBook and audio narration through the Kindle App with Audible. My husband and I listened to the first few chapters on our trip home from visiting his family across the state. The narration is done by Neil Degrasse Tyson and although the subject matter can be difficult to comprehend, the book is certainly interesting.

 

Thanks for reading my May Reading Wrap Up, even though it’s almost the middle of June. You’re a true friend.

Happy Reading!

Erynn

One thought on “Reading Wrap Up – May 2017

Leave a Reply

