Books · Reading Wrap Up

Reading Wrap Up – April 2017

Happy Lazy Sunday, bookworms! It’s been a while, and I’ve missed posting and talking with you all. Last Monday I started training for a second job and now it looks like I’ll be working between 55 and 60 hours a week, not counting the extra planning and craft example creation I do for my job at the after-school program. With a lot of planning, batch writing on the weekends, gallons of tea and coffee and sheer determination I think I can make this book blog thing work for me, too.

It’s hard to believe that April is over and summer is quickly approaching. Read on to see what I read in April, as well as what books I’ve added to my multiplying collection.

Reading Wrap Up April 2017

What I Read:

1. Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough

Behind Her Eyes is a psychological thriller with one of the most unexpected endings I’ve ever stumbled upon in my reading adventures. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this novel by Sarah Pinborough, and you might too. If you’re interested in learning a more about the book, read my spoiler-free review.

2. Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller

17932658_1834390733495054_1005178563814490112_n

My review of Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller is forthcoming, as is a blog post about how to make delicious chocolate coconut cupcakes inspired by the new young adult novel. Make sure to check back in the next few weeks for these posts. Or better yet, follow my blog and know about every single post the moment it goes live. You know you want to.

 

Books Added to my Collection:

1. Scratch: Writers, Money, and the Art of Making a Living edited by Manjula Martin

I love Amazon. I ordered a paperback copy of Scratch: Writers, Money and the Art of Making a Living from Amazon early this month and received it a few days later. My crazy schedule and long TBR have kept me from reading the book in full, but I’ve read a few essays and I’m quite excited to enjoy the entire volume.

2. Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller

This one was a Barnes and Noble impulse purchase because I kept seeing Daughter of the Pirate King all over some of my favorite bookstagram accounts. I regret nothing.

2. The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith

The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith, a.k.a. J.K. Rowling, is a book that I’ve already read but bought anyway. J.K. Rowling is one of my favorite authors, and one whose books I’ll always buy (even if it takes me a while to get myself a copy). If you haven’t read any of Rowling’s Cormoran Strike Novels, I’d advise giving them a try.

3. Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll

I don’t know anything about this book, but I got it for about $4 at a bargain store near my house while my husband and I were out searching for a new cat tower for our spoiled cat.

4. Hungry Heart: Adventures in Life, Love, and Writing by Jennifer Weiner

As a reader and writer, I love books like this one that share a writer’s experience in an entertaining way. This was another $4 bargain store find, and a total win.

5. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

See what I said about Luckiest Girl Alive. Apply here, to Illuminae.

 

What I’m Reading Now:

1. Death and the Lit Chick by G.M. Malliet


 

What are you currently reading? How many books have you read so far in 2017? Are your goals going slightly better than mine?

If there’s anything you’d like to see here on Erynn Loves Books in the next few months, I’d love to know what you think. Reach out to me here via the comments or through my contact page.

Happy Reading!

Erynn

One thought on “Reading Wrap Up – April 2017

Leave a Reply

