Books · Reading Wrap Up

Reading Wrap Up – March 2017

This month’s reading wrap up post will be a little longer than any I’ve posted so far. Although I haven’t done nearly enough reading this month, my book collection has not so much expanded as it has exploded. There are piles of books stacked around the bedroom floor that have me dreaming of getting my own place with my husband so that we can get some nice bookshelves.

Listing out all the books that came into my possession this month makes me realize I probably need to put myself in a book buying time-out, but to be fair Book Outlet had a crazy sale this month that I just couldn’t miss. And some of my new books were gifts, like the 50th Anniversary The Lord of the Rings collection that I got for my birthday.

Although I’ve never posted a TBR (To Be Read) post here on my blog, the list of books I’ve yet to read has gotten excessive.  There’s just so much I want to read. Do you keep a list of books to read? How do you manage a crazy TBR?

What I Read:

1. Monster by A. Lee Martinez

Monster-A-Lee-Martinez

I won’t say too much about Monster as I just posted my review of this fun fantasy novel the other day, but if you’re interested in learning more about the book you can read my review hereMonster is full of unusual creatures, following a cryptobiological creature catcher as his career intersects with the destiny of the Universe.

 

The-Girls-Emma-Cline-Faceswap-Erynn-Loves-Books
From @erynnlovesbooks on Instagram

2. The Girls by Emma Cline

I liked reading The Girls by Emma Cline… but I didn’t love it. Perhaps I was hoping for something darker or I had too many expectations going into it, but The Girls was a pretty neutral reading experience for me. I had planned to post a review of the book but am undecided whether I will. If you’re interested in seeing one, make sure to let it be known. I aim to please.

For now, enjoy this weird photo from when I used Snapchat to “faceswap” with a book.

 

3. Find Your Awesome by Judy Clement Wall (eARC received through NetGalley)

Find Your Awesome, A 30 Day Challenge to Fall in Love with your Playful, Imaginative and Colorful Self is a book/journal that takes the reader on a month long journey of self-love. I’ll be posting my review of this “creative journal adventure” this weekend so if you’re interested in learning more about Find Your Awesome, make sure to check back for that post.

 

4. Hello Me, It’s You edited by Hannah Todd (eARC received through NetGalley)

I requested Hello Me, It’s You through NetGalley because I was attracted by the premise. This book is a collection of letters from young adults to their teenage selves which discuss each writer’s experiences with mental health issues. The letters are anonymous and emotional, and the format reminded me a bit of flipping through various Chicken Soup for the Soul books as a child. My review of Hello Me, It’s You is forthcoming.

 

5. At First Blush by Beth Ellyn Summer (eARC received through NetGalley)

Yet another eARC I have to review, I just finished reading At First Blush last night. I think I’m finally getting used to doing a small portion of my reading on the Kindle app, as I had no issues getting through this new YA novel. I can’t wait to review At First Blush because it was such a fun, cute read!

 

Books Added to my Collection:

1. The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt, illustrated by Oliver Jeffers

I bought this picture book in Florida so I could bring it home and read it to my kids at work. I love the storyline, which is told in the form of letters from the crayons to their owner Duncan, and the creative illustrations by Oliver Jeffers. If you have young kids, The Day the Crayons Quit is where it’s at.

2. Monster by A. Lee Martinez

3. The Bob’s Burgers Burger Book by Loren Bouchard and The Writers of Bob’s Burgers

I can’t wait to cook some “real recipes for joke burgers” out of The Bob’s Burgers Burger Book. Bob’s Burgers is one of my all-time favorite tv shows and it pains me that it will be leaving Netflix tomorrow (4/1). If anyone wants to be on my taste test committee, let me know.

4. Exit West by Mohsin Hamid

Exit-West-Mohsin-Hamid

5. The Lord of the Rings Trilogy 50th Anniversary Edition by J.R.R. Tolkien

This book contains all three parts of the The Lord of the Rings trilogy, so it’s really three books in one.

6. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

One of my birthday presents from my parents was a copy of Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – one of my favorite books by my favorite authors. It is one of the Barnes and Noble editions of the novel, and it’s pretty and shiny and periwinkle. I love the look of the book, and the weight of it in my hands. The pretty marbled endpapers are sublime and to be honest I’m kind of afraid to open the book and ruin how perfect it is right now.

7. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets – Illustrated Edition by J.K. Rowling, illustrated by Jim Kay

My parents also blessed me with the illustrated edition of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets for my birthday. It’s gorgeous!

8. Lagoon by Nnedi Okorafor

One day I hope to own every book by Nnedi Okorafor. I started towards that goal by picking up three of her works during a Book Outlet sale. I previously owned a copy of Lagoon, but I loved it so much that I gave it away. I just needed someone else to experience it! But now I’ve gt my own copy again and all is right with the world.

9. The Book of Phoenix by Nnedi Okorafor

10. Binti by Nnedi Okorafor

11. Three Tales of My Father’s Dragon by Ruth Stiles Gannett

My Father’s Dragon, Elmer and the Dragon, and The Dragons of Blueland were some of my favorite books as a young child. In first grade I fell in love with Elmer Elevator and his adventures. My Father’s Dragon inspired one of the first stories I ever wrote. Naturally I had to add a copy of all three My Father’s Dragon books to my library.

12. The 500 by Matthew Quirk

I don’t know anything about this book. But I bought it during Book Outlet’s sale and now it’s on my TBR.

13. Harry Potter Boxed Set by J.K. Rowling

All seven Harry Potter books for less than $50?! Yep. There was basically no stopping this transaction once I saw the price. Now I own an entire Harry Potter series in English.


 

How many books did you manage to read this month? Have you recently added any extra special books to your collection?

Happy Reading!

Erynn

One thought on “Reading Wrap Up – March 2017

Leave a Reply

