Book Tags · Books

The Nintendo Book Tag

First off, I’d like to thank Book Princess Reviews for thinking of me and tagging me to participate in this fun, nerdy tag.

While I was never the biggest video gamer (I was too busy with my nose shoved between the pages of some book), I’ve always been a casual player. From my days as a little kid playing Mario games to Sims to Kingdom Hearts to Call of Duty, I’ve tried gaming on just about every system there is. But there was always something so nostalgic, magical even, about the trusty old Super Nintendo I played my first games on. We sold it in a garage sale some years back before everything from childhood became trendy again. Oh well.

So without further delay, here are my answers for The Nintendo Book Tag.


The Nintendo Book Tag

Tagged By: Book Princess Reviews

1. NES (NINTENDO ENTERTAINMENT SYSTEM): A CLASSIC YOU WANT TO READ

Persuasion by Jane Austen. I’m a big Jane Austen fan; a mutual love of Austen between a college roommate and I reignited my passion for classic literature. I hope to someday own and have read all of Austen’s works, with Persuasion sitting at the top of my list.

2. SNES (SUPER NINTENDO): A SEQUEL YOU LIKED MORE THAN THE FIRST (CAN BE A SECOND BOOK IN A SERIES)

14727408_340760659632861_3005153368214601728_n.jpg

The Reptile Room, A Series of Unfortunate Events – Book the Second by Lemony Snicket. While I love the entirety of A Series of Unfortunate Events, the first book is one of my least favorite installments in the series. The second novel, The Reptile Room, contains more action and is more sinister than The Bad Beginning, the first A Series of Unfortunate Events novel. There are more grammar/vocabulary lessons and Lemony Snicket’s character is inserted more fully into the narrative. In sum, the second book is just more than the first. It’s great.

Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting By in America by Barbara Ehrenreich. While most of what I read is fiction, I have read a number of nonfiction books that have informed my worldview. One of the most influential of these is Barbara Ehrenreich’s Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting By in America, which I read as a part of my intro sociology course during my first semester of undergrad. This sociological staple details the difficulty that is getting by as a poor person in the United States, and I ended up using it along with a few other texts to inform my final project for that class. I’d love to reread Nickel and Dimed one day soon.

4. GAMECUBE: A POPULAR BOOK THAT DID NOT GO OVER SO WELL WITH YOU

Twilight (& the rest of the series) by Stephanie Meyer. Although everyone loved it during its prime, I am a certified Twilight hater. Because I really hated the series and wanted to have good arguments as to why, I read all of the books. I found an arsenal of weapons to fuel my “Twilight sucks” crusade. I also wasted a fair amount of time and money on Twilight, so congrats Stephanie Meyer, you win.

5. WII: A NEW FAVORITE BOOK

I never have just one favorite book, because honestly coming up with one book that rises above all the rest is quite impossible. At least in my experience. I do have a list of favorites I can rattle off whenever asked a question as silly as “What’s your favorite book?” – The Perks of Being a Wallflower, the Harry Potter series, Emma, etc. etc. etc.16584771_417809248558520_4679113294122844160_n

My newest favorite book is The Princess Saves Herself in This One, a collection of poetry by Amanda Lovelace. I love the front cover, I love the back cover, and of course I love the poetry inside. I reviewed the book last month, which you can check out here. I am now anxiously awaiting the poetess’ next collection which was just revealed to be called The Witch Doesn’t Burn in This One on Lovelace’s Instagram account.

6. NINTENDO POWER: FAVORITE GRAPHIC NOVEL SERIES OR A SERIES YOU WANT TO START

This right here is about to become a sad sentence, so prepare yourself – I’ve yet to read a graphic novel. To be honest, until fairly recently I had no interest in reading a graphic novel. However I visited a bookstore with a badass graphic novel selection and it was quite interesting. I’d love a few graphic novel suggestions if anyone has any for me!

As for a series I’d like to start (this one’s for you Allison & now you know why I sent you the link on Facebook),  I intend to someday read The Lord of the Rings trilogy. It’s a shame that I haven’t read them yet as I enjoyed reading The Hobbit, and they’ve been recommended to me so many times that I’ve lost count.

7. SUPER MARIO: A CHARACTER THAT YOU’D LOVE TO SQUISH LIKE A GOOMBA

SQUISH DOLORES UMBRIDGE. She’s evil in the most hideously open way.

8. ZELDA: A NEWER FANTASY THAT YOU CONSIDER TO BE A MODERN CLASSIC

15876356_1631916267104781_7896519019778277376_n.jpg

The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling is a modern classic, but like… obviously. I don’t think I need to spend any more time on this one. You get it.

9. SAMUS-ARAN: FAVORITE SCI-FI NOVEL OR ONE YOU WANT TO READ

15538994_1289344684434121_4949091579684978688_nLagoon by Nnedi Okorafor. I haven’t read a ton of sci-fi but most of it was unremarkable and not really memorable. Lagoon is a whole different story. It’s written in the most intriguing style, with a narrative composed between multiple viewpoints. The first few pages drew me in immediately and I pretty much didn’t put it down until I’d ripped through the whole book. I may be a little biased toward Okorafor given my experience taking a creative writing class with her during college, but Lagoon is a book that is genuinely worthy of the favorite sci-fi novel label. Read it, please.

10. POKEMON: BOOK EDITIONS THAT YOU WANT TO COLLECT

hp.png
The above photo is one found on the publisher’s website, where the books are available for purchare – Bloomsbury Publishing.

The Harry Potter series, UK House Edition – Ravenclaw Edition by Bloomsbury Publishing. If you’ve read my blog you know that the only complete set of Harry Potter books I own is in Spanish, a Christmas gift from my husband this past year. The dream is to get myself a set of the Ravenclaw Edition books, which I would treasure like my own child forever and ever.

Puffin in Bloom Series by Penguin Random House. Consisting of four middle grade classics – Heidi, Anne of Green Gables, Little Women and A Little Princess, this set features gorgeous floral cover illustrations by Anna Boyd. You can check them out on the Penguin Random House website, where I found the images above.

11. DONKEY KONG: A BOOK WITH ORIGINAL CHARACTERS

15534833_1231494720276656_1101688510475141120_nFates and Furies by Lauren Groff. The characters in Fates and Furies were well-crafted and interesting, which is good given that the characters, their stories and their perceptions drive the novel much more than the plot does. I didn’t like any of the characters in particular, but I did like reading about them and that’s what really counts. At least in the context of this question.

12. NINTENDO FANDOM: FAVORITE NINTENDO GAME(S) OR GAME

My favorite Super Nintendo games as a babe were Super Mario World, Pac-Man and Super Mario All-Star; Mario Kart and the Just Dance games were some of my favorites on the Nintendo Wii that my mom got us in high school.

Tag…you’re it:

Book Emma (If you’d like, thanks for the follow!)


 

Are you a gamer? If so, are you a casual gamer like me or do you play a ton like my husband? What’s your favorite system? Has anyone gotten their hands on the new Nintendo Switch? What do you think?

If I didn’t tag you to try out The Nintendo Book Tag but you’re sitting at your computer (or phone) right now and thinking “gee, that sounds like a lot of fun” consider this your invitation. I’d love to see your answers to these questions so if you do decide to complete The Nintendo Book Tag on your blog, make sure you tag me so I don’t miss it! Or just let me know some of your answers in the comments below.

Happy Reading!

Erynn

5 thoughts on “The Nintendo Book Tag

  1. Great post, Erynn! I have yet to read a Jane Austen novel, but I super agree that I would definitely like to! And I just recently got into graphic novels…well, manga myself. So far no recommendations, but it such an intriguing format. There are a few YA books that became graphic novels like Legend by Marie Lu and I believe the Clockwork Prince books by Cassandra Calre. Overall, such a great post, and I’m glad you enjoyed!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re making me almost want to go scoop up an extra copy of Emma or Pride and Prejudice to send your way because that makes me so sad. Haha. But the reworking of YA into graphic novels sounds really cool, I’ll definitely have to check it out.

      Thanks so much for the compliment, it means a lot coming from one of my favorite book bloggers!

      Like

Leave a Reply

