Books

Great Things Coming in March 2017

I really wanted to write a post about all the wonderful things I am excited for this month because there’s a bit of a list. Although I’d hoped to post it yesterday, it was a day spent in travel so I didn’t really have a chance.

For the purposes of this post I am separating these things into the only two categories that really matter – Books and Not Books.

Books

 

1. The Roanoke Girls by Amy Engel          March 7, 2017

Here’s an excerpt from the goodreads synopsis for the upcoming novel The Roanoke Girls by Amy Engel: “After her mother’s suicide, fifteen year-old Lane Roanoke came to live with her grandparents and fireball cousin, Allegra, on their vast estate in rural Kansas. Lane knew little of her mother’s mysterious family, but she quickly embraced life as one of the rich and beautiful Roanoke girls. But when she discovered the dark truth at the heart of the family, she ran fast and far away. Eleven years later, Lane is adrift in Los Angeles when her grandfather calls to tell her Allegra has gone missing. Did she run too? Or something worse? Unable to resist his pleas, Lane returns to help search, and to ease her guilt at having left Allegra behind.” It looks quite interesting, and many of the early reviews look positive.

2. Exit West by Mohsin Hamid          March 7, 2017

Exit West is my March Book of the Month Club selection, so I will be receiving my copy in the mail before too long. I have to admit I didn’t know much about the novel when I chose it, but I knew it was supposed to be good and the cover was interesting so I was sold. I’m kind of any easy customer. Exit West looks to be a timely book, written about issues that speak to the current global situation. I’m quite excited to read it.

3. The Djinn Falls in Love & Other Stories          March 9, 2017

This story collection is edited by Mahvesh Murad and Jared Shurin and includes a story by Nnedi Okorafor, whose creative writing class I took during college. I plan on buying the collection, primarily because of Nnedi’s story, but also because I love short stories.

4. A Woman of Integrity by J. David Simons          March 16, 2017

I read this novel as my first selection of new books from NetGalley, and I found it an enjoyable experience. You can read my review of A Woman of Integrity in my recent post. This women’s fiction/historical ficiton novel is being released on March 16, and if you read my review, you can decide if it’s something you’d like to check out.

 

 

Not Books

1. My Birthday!

This year I will be turning 23. I’m a big fan of my birthday and I hope my husband has something fun in store for me. If any of you know him, feel free to let him know my expectations are high. LOL.

2. 13 Reasons Why          March 31, 2017

When I was in middle school I fell in love with Jay Asher’s YA novel, 13 Reasons Why. I wasn’t the only one. The book, which details the reasons behind a teenager named Hannah Baker’s suicide, made an impact on many readers. I bonded over the book with one of my favorite teachers in high school, and when I found out there would be a Netflix Original Series based on 13 Reasons Why I knew I would be an enthusiastic viewer.

You can watch the official trailer for the Netflix series on Youtube here.

 

So there you have it, some wonderful things to look forward to in the coming weeks. What are you excited for this month? Am I missing anything important from my list? Let me know with a comment!

Happy Reading!

Erynn

One thought on “Great Things Coming in March 2017

Leave a Reply

