Books · Reading Wrap Up

Reading Wrap Up – February 2017

I’ll start right out by admitting that this month was pretty much crap for me when it came to productivity. First off, February is a short month so that doesn’t really help. Secondly, I’ve been a lazy shit and my depression has been kicking my ass (excuse my french). I haven’t been keeping up with my bookstagram or this book blog the way I’ve wanted to.

BUT, nevertheless, here I am with my monthly reading wrap up for February 2017.


February 2017 – Reading Wrap Up

What I Read:

1. The Grownup by Gillian Flynn

img_20170121_130040_370I received The Grownup in my Book of the Month Club box for January as a special gift, as I mentioned in my wrap post for January. I am a huge fan of Gillian Flynn, so I was super excited to rip through her short story.

I was not disappointed. The Grownup is a quick and intriguing read; I was immediately drawn in by Flynn’s characteristic writing style and the unique start to the story. I read the entire story in my car in one sitting while I was waiting for my little cousin’s birthday party. I would highly recommend this story to most any reader, especially as it’s so short and you haven’t wasted too much of your life if you decide you don’t like it.

2. A Woman of Integrity by J. David Simons      Release Date: March 17, 2017

I read an eARC of this women’s fiction novel via my membership at NetGalley. I won’t say too much about it on this post, but you can check out my book review for A Woman of Integrity in my post from earlier this month here.

3. The Princess Saves Herself in This One by Amanda Lovelace

I loved reading The Princess Saves Herself in This One. I loved it so much, I’ve already read it twice! You can see my full thoughts on this book of poetry here, but for the purposes of this wrap up post I’ll simply say I found it fantastic. I received an eARC of The Princess Saves Herself in This One through NetGalley (thanks a million, Netgalley!), read the whole thing in one sitting, and went out to buy a copy at my local Barnes and Noble later that night. Then I read it again.img_20170214_212649_810

Full disclosure, people either loved or hated this poetry collection. Many readers felt left down by what they described as the “tumblr poetry,” but I was moved by the poetess’s struggle and subsequent self-saving. I found the simple language and poems to be approachable and interesting, bite-sized pieces of art. The Princess Saves Herself in This One is a great poetry book for young poetry fans and those just dipping their feet into the poetry pool as it is accessible and simple. I would also recommend the collection to those who may identify with Lovelace’s struggles or self-saving “badassery.”

Books Added to My Collection:

  1. The Princess Saves Herself in This One by Amanda Lovelace
  2. Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough
  3. The Girls by Emma Cline

    16788435_1149492515178533_7674855328134987776_n.jpg
    This photo was originally posted on my bookish instagram, @erynnlovesbooks.

In Other News:

I’m currently on a lovely family vacation to Florida where I’ve visited a number of bookstores and made a stop at my brother’s place of employment – Universal Studios. In the next week there will be a few new blog posts detailing my experiences at these lovely bookish places.

Currently Reading:

  1. Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk
    16583189_1665885037044529_5110027023628107776_n
    This furry little model is my best bud, Reptar. He loves reading time because reading time = snuggles.

    Although I received this novel as my January Book of the Month selection, I still haven’t gotten through it. I’m not sure what I think and it isn’t a book I’d typically read but I accidentally locked it in as my selection so now I’m reading it with an open mind. Once I’m finished I’ll be sure to post a review.

  2. The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter (Reread)

    I brought this collection of short stories with me on the family vacation to Florida (where I’m currently writing this post!), mainly to read on the plane. It fits perfectly in the purse I carried onto the plane, and I just love Carter’s macabre/dark takes on classic fairy tales. My favorite story in the collection is The Company of Wolves, and I hope to someday add a tattoo to my collection inspired by the work.

  3. The Girls by Emma Cline

    Only just released in 2016, The Girls is a fairly new book. This novel is about the girls involved in a cult killing, basically a fictionalization of the Manson cult murders. It was polarizing – readers loved it or hated it. 

    I’ve wanted to read it since I saw the book at a bookstore, but didn’t pick it up because I usually already had a book or two in my hands to buy. Then I visited the lovely Inkwood Books in Tampa, Florida and had a great conversation with one of the staff, Donovan, who called it his favorite book of 2016. So I bought it. Now I’m reading it. Only time will tell whether I’m a lover or a hater.


 

What did you read this month? If you made any reading goals for 2017, how are you progressing? I’d love to know your thoughts on any and all of these books – even if you vehemently disagree with me. Let’s talk, debate and geek out about the thing we bibliophiles love most – books!

Happy Reading!

Erynn

 

Leave a Reply

