Uncategorized

Welcome To My Blog! (First Blog Post)

*** This blog post was originally posted on October 23, 2016 on Erynn Loves Books’ first home, gobbleupbooks.wordpress.com without the featured image***

I will start simple with my first post and explain how I came to be here, on the internet, starting a blog about books and things. I’ve only just begun the planning process for this blog, as evidenced by the phrase “a blog about books and things,” but I am truly excited to be embarking on this new journey.

I’ve created and deleted a few blogs before, but something tells me this might just be the one that sticks. In starting this blog I simply wanted to create a place for me to explore my passion for reading and writing, and to share these explorations with the world. If a community of writers and readers and dreamers  grows out of such a project, all the better!

As this blog is very much in its infancy and plans for its future are just beginning to come together, I am unsure at this time how often I will be posting and just when the next post can be expected.

Your patience with my creative brain is appreciated. Soon the plans and organization will catch up to inspiration and it will all come together in a glorious bibliobibulian paradise.

Bibliobiwhat?! I know what you may be thinking, but I didn’t just make that word up. Well, yes I did. Although I’m sure someone’s used it before and since objectively all words were made up, we can just  accept our word-creation and move on.The word bibliobibuli (from which came my bibliobibulian) was coined by H.L. Mencken, an American journalist/critic/humorist, in the text of his book Minority Report, his posthumously published notebooks.

“There are some people who read too much: bibliobibuli. I know some who are constantly drunk on books, as other men are drunk on whiskey or religion. They wander through this most diverting and stimulating of worlds in a haze, seeing nothing and hearing nothing.” – Minority Report: H.L. Mencken’s Notebooks (1956)

And while Mencken may have been trying to cast a negative light with his statements, all those who read “too much” – the bibliobibuli – are welcome here.

Leave a Reply

