Book Tags

The Rapid Fire Book Tag

*** This post was originally posted on January 15, 2017 on Erynn Loves Books’ original home at gobbleupbooks.wordpress.com ***

Although I was not tagged by anyone for the Rapid Fire Book Tag, I saw A Girl Who Reads’ post for the tag and thought it looked like a lot of fun! From that post I was led to The Uncharted Word, where I found even more questions for the tag contained in two separate posts. At the end of her post she tagged “Anyone and everyone who might be interested in doing this tag,” which I am taking as my invitation to jump in and introduce myself via this set of bookish questions.

Because I’m such a procrastinator it’s been forever since these original posts but, I’m here and I’ve got these questions in front of me, so here goes.


THE QUESTIONS:

E-BOOK OR PHYSICAL BOOK?

Personally I will always love and prefer a physical book to an e-book. I’ve only ever read one book entirely in e-book form and it was during the week that I owned a Nook back in 2008 or something. I love the feel and weight of a book, and of course the way it smells.

PAPERBACK OR HARDBACK?

In general I prefer paperback books as they are easier, but I like hardback books when the books are old or part of a beautiful collection.

ONLINE OR IN-STORE BOOK SHOPPING?

In-store! I like to grab books, read the back, check out the insides. I thoroughly investigate before buying any book because my part-time employment lends a very limited budget so every book purchase is a big one for me right now. But let me tell you, almost all my extra money goes to books. Yay books (& bookstores)!

THE LAST BOOK YOU FINISHED?

A Series of Unfortunate Events, Book the Fourth – The Miserable Mill by Lemony Snicket. The Netflix show released on Friday the 13th and in preparation I reread the first four books in the series as my first four reads of 2017. Currently I am reading Wicked by Gregory Maguire, which I started in the fall but restarted this morning.

TRILOGIES OR SERIES?

Series. Maybe only because I’m currently facing my bookshelf and A Series of Unfortunate Events is staring me straight in the face.

HEROES OR VILLAINS?

Villains. Mwahaha. I have a tendency to like well-crafted villains with lots of layers (like onions). Better yet if it’s a complicated character who doesn’t fit well in either category.

A BOOK YOU WANT EVERYONE TO READ

The Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. This book helped me get through high school, and the movie adaptation was one of the few book to movie transitions that really worked for me.

USED BOOKS: YES OR NO?

Don’t be a book snob. Used books are great and cheap and if you find a cool used bookstore like I have, you can sell them back for credit towards future purchases. Win win.

TOP THREE FAVORITE GENRES

1) Literary Fiction 2) Legal Fiction 3) Quirky Memoirs/Essays

WEIRDEST THING YOU’VE USED AS A BOOKMARK?

Perhaps not weird, but I keep finding myself in trouble when I “lose” my bank card to a book. I’m also known to use money, receipts and candy wrappers on a regular basis.

RECOMMEND AN UNDERRATED AUTHOR?

Nnedi Okorafor. She writes adult science fiction, young adult and children’s books as well as short stories. In addition she teaches creative writing in the English department at UB, where I went to school and took a class. I read Lagoon and loved it.

BORROW OR BUY?

Borrow, then buy. I’ll borrow a book from a library if I’m just giving it a chance but if I love a book I want to add it to my collection. Sometimes I make impulse book buys, and lately I’ve been buying books because the cover art grabs my attention.

CHARACTER OR PLOT?

In all fairness the best books excel in both areas, but if I had to choose one I would prioritize characters. It’s hard to care about even the greatest adventure if its being undertaken by a boring two-dimensional character.

LONG OR SHORT BOOKS?

I’ll answer this in the dorkiest way possible. Okay, ready?

“You can’t get a cup of tea big enough or a book long enough to suit me.”

NAME THE FIRST THREE BOOKS YOU THINK OF

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan, The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling.

BOOKS THAT MAKE YOU LAUGH OR CRY?

Any good book will make me cry. I cry from sadness, happiness, cuteness overload. You name an emotion, if I feel it strongly, I cry. It’s a curse and a gift.

Nope, it’s just a curse.

OUR WORLD OR FICTIONAL WORLDS?

Fictional worlds!

AUDIOBOOKS: YES OR NO?

I never tried audiobooks until last year when Will, then my fiance, downloaded one on my phone for a long car ride for a visit to his mom. We listened to about a third of the book, and it was a fairly enjoyable experience. I may give another audiobook a try again soon.

DO YOU EVER JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS COVER?

Of course. Especially if there are multiple editions of a book, and I’m choosing which to buy.

BOOK TO MOVIE OR BOOK TO TV ADAPTATIONS?

I tend to like book to movie adaptations. I feel that with book to tv adaptations, producers are more likely to make major plot changes due to viewer or network pressure.

A MOVIE OR TV SHOW YOU PREFERRED TO ITS BOOK?

Marley and Me, although my entire family cried in the theater when we went to see it.

SERIES OR STANDALONES?

Standalones. (Because I answered series last time?)

I TAG…

No one, I know no one.

Please introduce yourselves people. Feel free to leave a comment on a post or reach out to me via the contact page here on my blog. Tag me in bookish blog tags. Let’s be friends!

Happy Reading!

Erynn

Leave a Reply

