Wordbook Wednesday

The FIRST EVER Wordbook Wednesday

*** This post was originally published on January 25, 2017 at gobbleupbooks.wordpress.com, the original home for Erynn Loves Books***

Happy Wordbook Wednesday!

What is Wordbook Wednesday? Well, my wordbook is a little notebook I carry around to write down words that interest me while I’m reading. On Wednesday each week I will share these words with you. Hence, Wordbook Wednesday.

The words will be a mix of words I don’t know and words that catch my eye for one reason or another. Occasionally a phrase or quote might sneak its way in as a bonus. I just love words, so I thought I’d make a weekly effort to share some cool ones.

This week almost all of my words are from the novel Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West. I’ve been trying to get through the book since November, and since I recently restarted the novel I’ve not allowed myself to start reading anything else until I’m finished. It’s interesting that I’m having so much trouble getting through Wicked, too, because I really do like it. I just can’t focus.

aviary-image-1485387077906


The Words

All definitions, unless otherwise noted, are from dictionary.com.

Asceticism – rigorous self-denial; extreme abstinence; austerity

“She suspected that beneath his righteous asceticism he possessed a hidden longing for the easy life.”     Wicked; I – Munchkinlanders, The Root of Evil

Balustrade – a railing with supporting balusters (I then looked up baluster, which is defined as “any of a number of closely spaced supports for a railing”)

“She used the broom as a sort of balustrade, stepping down from the sky like one of her flying monkeys.”     Wicked; Prologue

Etiolate – to whiten or grow pale through lack of light 

“She sat down, looking a bit etiolated, and allowed him to call for a cup of mineral tea.”     Wicked; II – Gillikin, Boq (3)

Impertinent – intrusive or presumptuous; insolently rude; uncivil

“She was lying as fast as she could, and better than Madame Morrible, who seemed at least intrigued.

“You strike me as impertinent, Miss Galinda,” she said mildly.”     Wicked; II – Gillikin, Galinda (I)

aviary-image-1485389244091
I made this cute little bookmark last night using a paper marbling technique I taught my preschoolers. It turned out quite lovely!

Phantasmagorical – having a fantastic or deceptive appearance, as something in a dream or created by the imagination

“In front of the cave there was a sign saying it was for sale, and the orphans could not imagine who would want to buy such a phantasmagorical – the word “phantasmagorical” here means “all  the creepy, scary words you can think of put together” – place.”     The Wide Window – A Series of Unfortunate Events, Book the Third; Chapter 10

Putrescent – becoming putrid; undergoing putrefaction

“A hatchet-faced girl with putrescent green skin and long, foreign-looking black hair.”     Wicked; II – Gillikin, Galinda (I)

Verdant – green with vegetation; covered with growing plants or grass

“Galinda didn’t see the verdant world through the glass of the carriage; she saw her own reflection instead.”     Wicked; II – Gillikin, Galinda (I)

Vertiginous – whirling; spinning; rotary

“On the appointed evening he retraced his way and, on the stable roof, found that a fruit picker’s ladder had been left leaning up against the wall, so he need not descend through the leaves like a vertiginous chimpanzee.”     Wicked; II – Gillikin, Boq (2)


Hopefully next week there will be a bit more variety to the sources of my Wordbook Wednesday words, although Wicked is ripe with colorful vocabulary so it has been fun.

Which of these Wordbook Wednesday words is your favorite? Has anyone read Wicked? If so, what did you think? Have you ever struggled with a book for what seems like ages? If anyone has a favorite word, I’d love to know what it is! Please let me know what you think in the comments. I’d love to have a conversation with you, one word nerd to another.

Happy Reading!

Erynn

Leave a Reply

