Uncategorized

The Book That Started It All – Why I Started This Blog

*** This post was originally published on October 27, 2016 on Erynn Loves Books’ first home, gobbleupbooks.wordpress.com without the featured image ***

Bookstores are one of my sacred places. When I’m feeling down, or worried, or I really need to think I can always be found in one of three places: a bookstore,eating breakfast at Denny’s, or holed up in a small place with a book and a blanket (and if I’m lucky and my husband has noticed my mood, a fresh cup of tea).

Bookstores not only serve as a sacred place, but can also be used as a barometer for my mercurial mood. Take me to a bookstore and follow me around. Don’t measure the length of the visit- good or bad mood, I will spend an agonizingly long time making my purchase. It isn’t worth making note of whether I buy a book or not, either – there will be a purchase. Just watch. Am I wandering aimlessly with stacks of books in my hands, choosing between the piles and  mourning each I have to put back on the shelves? No worries, I”m alright. But if I spend my time picking up and putting down books one after another after another, finding nothing of interest… it is probably best to buy me a caramel macchiato, pat me on my head and leave me to read in the corner in peace.

Last week, I was having a bad day; a very bad day. On this particular bad day, my new husband and I found ourselves wandering the stacks of a local Barnes and Noble. After spending over an hour wandering through the shelves (the latter half of the time with my husband trailing behind me asking when we would be going home), I still had nothing to show for it.

It was the cover that made me stop on my way out of the store and look: the clean white background, small yellow lines in patterns like stacks of books on a bookshelf, the title and author scrawled across in a casual black handwriting font.

While the cover made me stop, it was the book’s title that made me pick it up and take it home, no questions asked. I didn’t read the back cover, didn’t browse the first page like I usually do. I simply picked up the book with the good cover and the title that made me say “I want to go there”, bought it and took it home.

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan exceeded all my expectations. It was whimsical and magical, although not a single spell was cast. I went into the book simply enthralled with the idea of a 24-hour bookstore and came out wishing for more. Lucky for me, while searching for a quote from the book I found out that there is a prequel which I will now be finding and devouring soon.

I really enjoyed reading Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore, and the excitement it generated inspired me to start the book blog I had been thinking about for months. There are so many more things I want to say about this book, so I will be doing a book review later on this week.

Have you read Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore? What did you think? Please feel free to comment and let me know. Also, what inspired you to start your blog? Any things you’d really like to see in a brand new book blog like mine?

For me, it’s off to start Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the WestMy brother has been recommending it to me for years, so last weekend when I was at my parents’ house I snagged it from his bookshelves.

Happy Reading,

Erynn Loves Books

One thought on “The Book That Started It All – Why I Started This Blog

Leave a Reply

