Books · Reading Wrap Up

Reading Wrap Up – January 2017

***This post was originally published at gobbleupbooks.wordpress.com on January 31, 2017 with a different featured image ***

Hello friends, readers and those who ended up on this page by some happy accident.

Today I am going to write a Reading Wrap Up for the month of January 2017. I’ll be posting one of these wrap up posts on a monthly basis to keep you updated on all the wonderful bookish things going on in my life that I may not have time to write an individual blog post about. I’ll let you know what I read, what books I’ve acquired, what I’m in the process of reading and anything new coming up on Erynn Loves Books that I think you should know about.

What I Read:

1 – The Bad Beginning, A Series of Unfortunate Events – Book the First by Lemony Snicket

img_20170101_202201_545
Originally posted by my Instagram account, @erynnlovesbooks

2 – The Reptile Room, A Series of Unfortunate Events – Book the Second by Lemony Snicket

3 – The Wide Window, A Series of Unfortunate Events – Book the Third by Lemony Snicket

4 – The Miserable Mill, A Series of Unfortunate Events – Book the Fourth by Lemony Snicket

5- Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West by Gregory Maguire

img_20170104_111610_813
Originally posted by my Instagram account, @erynnlovesbooks

Books Added to my Collection:

1 – Rebel Genius by Michael Dante DiMartino

I received Rebel Genius, a juvenile fiction novel, in the Bookly Box that I won as a part of the company’s biggest giveaway ever. Having read four kid lit books to start off my year, I hope to read a few more YA and adult books before attempting Rebel Genius.

2 – Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk by Kathleen Rooney

I chose Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk as my book choice for my first month of the Book of the Month Club. I received a three-month gift subscription to Book of the Month Club from my mother-in-law for Christmas. I’m quite happy with the beautiful cover of Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk (pictured below), and I look forward to reading the novel.

3 – The Grownup by Gillian Flynn

In Other News:

1 – I made a  Goodreads account! I’ll be keep tracking of the books I read over on Goodreads as well as here on my blog, so feel free to become my friend if you have a Goodreads account.

2 – I’ve also joined NetGalley, a website which boasts to “help readers of influence discover and recommend new books to their audiences.” Basically, NetGalley connects publishers with reviewers and book bloggers and librarians to read, review and recommend ARCs (ARC = Advanced Reader Copy, as I recently learned). I’m very excited about the opportunity to read and review upcoming books, and I hope this experience will teach me to love ebooks a little bit more. I’m currently reading my first eARC from NetGalley on the Kindle App on my phone, and I’m loving the experience.

3 – One of my bookstagram photos was reposted by Bookly Box’s social media accounts, on Facebook and Instagram. I was fortunate enough to be one of the winners of Bookly Box’s biggest giveaway yet in December, where 10 winners (myself included) received a free Bookly Box. When I received the package in the mail, I excitedly took this picture.

img_20170108_211330_632
The photo I took of my Bookly Box prize and posted on my Instagram, @erynnlovesbooks. This shot was then reposted by the Bookly Box social media accounts on Facebook and Instagram where it got a good amount of exposure.

4 – There will be a BIG ANNOUNCEMENT tomorrow. STAY TUNED!

Currently Reading:

1 – The Grownup by Gillian Flynn

img_20170119_195118_271
My first Book of the Month Club box, which I received as a Christmas gift from my mother-in-law. As luck would have it my first month included a free copy of Gillian Flynn’s short story and my current read, The Grownup.

2 – An eARC of A Woman of Integrity by J. David Simons which I received through the above-mentioned website, NetGalley. I can’t wait to review this book – due for publication on March 16 of this year – and to continue reading and reviewing exciting books before they’re released!

What did you read this month? How are your New Year’s Resolutions (especially reading resolutions) going so far? Have you gotten any new books that you’re especially excited about? Please reach out to me, I’d love to know what you think.

Happy Reading!

Erynn

4 thoughts on “Reading Wrap Up – January 2017

Leave a Reply

