Uncategorized

Excitement for Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life

*** This post was originally posted on November 8, 2016 with the Title “Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life”***

Full disclaimer: this post isn’t directly related to books, reading or literature.  But Rory Gilmore loves books at least as much as I do, as evidenced by the Rory Gilmore Reading Challenge that exists in her honor. Go check out that list of books. Wow. I started the challenge when I was still in school, but it proved too much on top of full-time classes and part-time jobs. Perhaps it’s something I’ll attempt again someday.

But for now I’m just excited for the upcoming Netflix mini-series Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life!

When I was in late elementary school, I would come home everyday after class or musical practice and sit down in front of the tv to do homework and watch Gilmore Girls. I idolized Rory Gilmore. She was smart and bookish and had big goals like going to Harvard and traveling the world. She was everything I wanted to be.

I am currently attempting to rewatch the entirety of the series on Netflix before the new installment comes out later this month on Black Friday. I’ve got less than three weeks to cover the majority of seven seasons, seeing as I’m currently watching “The Third Loralei” (Season One, Episode 18). I’ve sort of accepted that I’ll be playing Gilmore Girls in the background of most everything I do at home for now.

I can’t wait for November 25th and the release of Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life. I only hope there are as many book and literature references in this new Gilmore Girls production as there are in the seven seasons of the original show. If Rory isn’t still a bookworm I will be sorely disappointed.

If you haven’t seen it (How haven’t you seen it?), you can watch the trailer on youtube here. I noticed one Jack Kerouac/On the Road reference made by Loralei, but I remain hopeful that Rory will still be every bit the reader she grew up to be. Come on, Netflix, don’t let me down!

Are you waiting for the mini-series? Have you rewatched the show in preparation, or are you still struggling through like I am? If you’ve done or are doing the Rory Gilmore reading challenge please let me know about your experience. Feel free to comment on this post or reach out to me via the Contact page. I’d love to know what you think!

(Ending this post while watching Season 2, Episode 1. Here’s to a few weeks filled with Gilmore Girls and baking. Yay Fall!)

Happy Reading!

Erynn Loves Books

Leave a Reply

