Book Tags

Book Tag – My Life in Books

*** This post was originally published on January 28, 2017 at Erynn Loves Books’ original home at gobbleupbooks.wordpress.com with links to the various blogs mentioned. I didn’t want to annoy them with a double post and so I’ve spared you the links and tags this time. ***

I saw this book tag on one of my favorite book blogs, Thrice Read, on Tuesday and thought it looked fun and unique. I’ve decided to try to get a book tag post out on a regular basis to share a little bit about myself, and to try and connect with other book bloggers.

I haven’t been doing the best at sticking to my new year’s goal of three posts per week, but I have been blogging more often and more consistently than ever before. Small victories are still victories!


My Life in Books – BOOK TAG

Found on Thrice Read

BOOK FOR EACH INITIAL

E – Emma / Jane Austen

R – The Raven / Edgar Allen Poe

Y – The Yearling / Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

N – Night / Elie Weisel

N – Naked Lunch / William S. Burroughs

AGE – COUNT ALONG YOUR BOOKSHELF

Not all my books are on one bookshelf, so I just chose a bookshelf and started counting. I’m 22 years old, and the 22nd book on my shelves is Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur. I received this poetry book as a gift from my parents for Christmas and am so glad I did. I asked for it after seeing all the love on bookstagram and coming across a few of the poet’s works shared on friends’ Facebook pages.

BOOK THAT REPRESENTS A DESTINATION YOU WOULD LOVE TO TRAVEL TO

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan primarily takes place in a strange and mysterious 24-hour bookstore in San Francisco. I’d like to visit both the fictional bookstore and the very real city of San Francisco. I mean, who wouldn’t want to visit a place like this –

“Inside: imagine the shape and volume of a normal bookstore turned up on its side. This place was absurdly narrow and dizzyingly tall, and the shelves went all the way up – three stories of books, maybe more.” – Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore

img_20170127_130046_552
(Originally posted on @erynnlovesbooks on Instagram)

FAVORITE COLOR

My favorite color, as well as my husband’s favorite color, is purple. The obvious choice for me here is The Color Purple by Alice Walker. I’ve read the book, seen the movie and seen the show performed live. I love The Color Purple, as well as the color purple.

FONDEST MEMORIES OF

I’m choosing the same answer that Jenn at Thrice Read did here, but not because she chose it. It’s the just the truth! When I was a kid, Harry Potter was something that we enjoyed as a family. I didn’t read the first few books – they were read to me (and my brother Cullen) by my mom and dad, and sometimes when my dad went out of town we’d include him via speakerphone. Harry Potter was a family affair. Harry Potter turned my brother into a reader and turned me on to fantasy.

MOST DIFFICULTY READING

Jane Eyre. I first got my copy of Jane Eyre when I was eight or nine because it was on some crazy sale at a bargain store. I remember I picked it because I liked the cover and even more so because I liked how big it was. I think on my first attempt I didn’t even make a dent in the novel before giving up. Over and over again I would pick up and try to read Jane Eyre, but over and over again I would be forced to concede that I was too young to read it. To be honest I don’t remember how old I was when I finally got through it.

WHICH BOOK IN YOUR TBR PILE WILL YOU GET THE BIGGEST SENSE OF ACCOMPLISHMENT FROM?

aviary-image-1485389244091
“You strike me as impertinent, Miss Galinda” – Madame Morrible

While I do not have a literal TBR pile put together anywhere, I do have a whole slew of books I’m looking to read in the near future. More than any of the books in my TBR pile though, I will feel most accomplished upon finally finishing my current read, Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West by Gregory Maguire. I first started reading Wicked in November and got just over halfway through in about a month of intermittent reading. I restarted the novel about a week and a half ago and I’m still struggling. I like Wicked a lot, but I feel that I just may like finishing it more.


I’m so glad I found this book tag on Thrice Read; I had so much fun thinking about my answers to these questions, and I’d love to know yours! Please do this book tag on your blog to show off what your life in books looks like.

While I don’t know many (or any) book bloggers yet, I’m tagging one who has popped up in my WordPress Reader and my notifications on a few occasions. I love your blog and I hope you play along! Tag, you’re it for the My Life in Books book tag. (I tagged Book Princess Reviews, in the original post).

What are you reading this weekend? Are you in a reading slump or stuck in the middle of a book like I am? If anyone out there has a job in the book industry, I’d love to talk to you about it. Please reach out to me! Feel free to comment and let me know what you think about my choices for the My Life in Books tag.

Happy Reading!

Erynn

Leave a Reply

